Come Out From Among Them

Last Sunday, my church showed God’s Not Dead 2. I enjoyed it; I found it encouraging; and I found it decidedly challenging.

So the next day, I was nosing around on the Internet to see if they planned a third movie. And I ran across an article that basically bashed God’s Not Dead 2. Now I suppose from a critical standpoint, a person could find all kinds of things to complain about. But one complaint in their article stood out to me.

They said the movie was only for evangelical Christians. That by all other standards it was a flop.

These (unashamedly biased) reviewers went on to say that evangelical Christians are always drowning in the big pool of modern entertainment and modern education. So we go out and make our own movie companies, our own publishing companies, our own colleges to serve this little clique of evangelical Christians.

They said it like it’s a bad thing.

But what does God say?

Do not be unequally yoked together with unbelievers. For what fellowship has righteousness with lawlessness? And what communion has light with darkness?

And what accord has Christ with Belial? Or what part has a believer with an unbeliever?

-2 Corinthians 6:14-15 (NKJV)

This verse is often quoted in regard to marriage, and it certainly applies there. But the context doesn’t mention marriage at all. It’s simply about keeping away from the world.

What fellowship has righteousness with lawlessness? None whatsoever. They’re opposites by definition.

What communion has light with darkness? None at all. They don’t meld. They compete. Go flip a light switch in a dark room and watch.

What accord has Christ with Belial? Not the slightest. They are always at war.

So what part has a believer with an unbeliever? Fundamentally, nothing.

And before you write me off as saying we should never speak to a non-Christian, that is not what I’m saying. I’m saying our closest friends ought not be unbelievers. The ones we look to for approval ought not be unbelievers. The ones we measure ourselves by ought not be unbelievers.

Because a Christian is redeemed by the Lord Jesus and belongs to Him. We recognize that He has a right to command us, and we follow Him. We know that this life ultimately will end and only what lasts for eternity really matters.

That flies straight into the headwind of this world’s ideals.

So though I may have many things in common with an unbeliever; I may genuinely respect him; I may enjoy his company once in a while; when it comes to our foundations, we are fundamentally different.

And I cannot, I dare not, compromise.

I’m a writer, and the writing industry is full of do‘s and don’t‘s, requirements for this, and guidelines for that. Many of them are extremely useful. But when it comes down to the root of the matter, my writing must please God. If it dishonors Him or displeases Him, then I have failed, no matter how well it sells. On the flip side, if it barely sells at all but I have satisfied my Lord, then I have succeeded where it really counts.

It’s okay for Christians to hold to their own standards, perfectly independent of the world. Because the Christian worldview is fundamentally separate from any other worldview.

Therefore

“Come out from among them
And be separate, says the Lord.
Do not touch what is unclean,
And I will receive you.”
“I will be a Father to you,
And you shall be My sons and daughters,
Says the LORD Almighty.”

-2 Corinthians 6: 17-18 (NKJV)

On a fundamental level, God’s Not Dead 2 is a film primarily targeted at Christian viewers. And there’s nothing wrong with that.

God calls us to be totally separate from the world.

It seems to me that applies especially in our choices of entertainment.

-Miss Darcy

What are your thoughts?

