Broken Bits of Beauty

On my dresser, I keep a little jelly jar full of bits of broken glass. Once upon a time, those bits formed a clear glass cereal bowl. It fell off the kitchen counter one day and lay shattered on the floor.

As I swept up the pieces, I noticed how pretty they were, all piled up.  So I saved them in the jelly jar. Though the glass is useless as a bowl, still it is pretty contained in the jar. It reminds me that though I am broken, Jesus still sees me as beautiful.

Yesterday, I was turning that jar in my hands, admiring the beauty. And I finally realized what made it beautiful.

The light.

The glass shards become prisms–hundreds of shiny facets reflecting the light in snips of white and silver and gold. Without the light, they would just be bits of dull clear hard stuff.

It is the light that makes the jagged edges and irregular shapes lovely.

You might say that I started as a plain, ordinary glass bowl.

Sin shattered me.

For sin…deceived me, and…killed me.

-Romans 7:11

But Jesus has redeemed me and given me new life. He holds me together.

And He gives me beauty.  Because He is Light.

Then Jesus spoke to them again, saying, “I am the light of the world. He who follows Me shall not walk in darkness, but have the light of life.”

-John 8:12

That was the true Light which gives light to every man coming into the world.

-John 1:9

“You are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hidden.

“Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven.

-Matthew 5:14, 16

For you were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Walk as children of light…, finding out what is acceptable to the Lord. And have no fellowship with the unfruitful works of darkness, but rather expose them.

-Ephesians 5:8, 10-11

Insofar as I reflect the Light–Jesus Christ–I am beautiful, though broken.

So are you.

-Miss Darcy

(All Scripture quotes from the NKJV.)

2 thoughts on “Broken Bits of Beauty

  1. Darcy, I really enjoyed this post. I’m so glad you started a blog and I look forward to reading more of your work. Have a wonderful day in the Lord. Esther

    p.s. Are you still working on your novel? I look forward to reading more of it too.

    On Thu, 14 Apr 2016 21:22:28 +0000 Peculiar Miss Darcy

    Like

    1. So glad you liked it, Esther! I am still working on my novel, but I’m also working on a novella that’s claiming my time, too. I hope to submit some of both of them soon.
      Thanks for commenting!
      Have a blessed day!

      Like

What are your thoughts?

